top of page

The Fashion Diaries: A Spontaneous Night Out.

As a part of the typical student life, it always gets to a point in time at which a night out with the girls is very much needed. What with the deadlines, exam stress and general concern for your own well-being, there comes a time when you and your besties' need to get out there and have a good drink and dance.

With this in mind, I thought this would be the perfect time to introduce a new series I am hoping to use in the future: The Fashion Diaries. This will allow me to showcase what I wear for particular events, on certain days, and will generally make post creating a lot easier for myself! I really hope you all enjoy this series, so without further a do, how's about we get on with the show.

With this night out taking place on a Wednesday, this typically meant that the attire for the evening for most people going out is going to be the ever classic, "jeans and a nice top". Considering it isn't quite the weekend yet, and with it being social night for the university's societies, if you were to dress up, you would basically stand out like a sore thumb! With this in mind, this is how I came to my decision on the outfit I wore on this evening.

When deciding on this outfit, I got a sort of 80's vibe combined with the 90's, making it a really interesting outfit to piece together. I began with definitely knowing that I wanted to wear my light blue washed mom jeans, as these are the perfect jeans to wear if you want to feel comfortable yet still look somewhat dressed up. I managed to pick these jeans up in the NEXT winter sale in Manchester which I think were an absolute find. Unfortunately I couldn't find the exact ones I purchased on their website, but here are some alternatives. Plus with the popularity of mom jeans at the minute, I can promise you would be able to find some in any shop on the high-street today.

My favourite detail about these jeans has to be the patches sewn onto them. Patches can make any old pair of jeans look 10x as expensive and brand new than they actually may be. If you can't find any jeans with patches already on them, have a look online for some patches you could buy and iron on! A bit of individuality goes a long way with fashion pieces, and can guarantee an instantly cooler and quirky look.

The next piece I added was the black halter-neck top which I picked up a couple of weeks ago from BooHoo and I fell in love with it as soon as I tried it on. This is the piece that gave the outfit that 80's vibe for me, as I could imagine it to be something someone would wear to a roller disco? That's what I thought of anyway! I love how slimming the top is and the plunge neck line adds that extra bit of sophistication, making it perfect for any night out.

To make the most of the plunge neck line, I made sure to wear a long necklace as this makes the area a lot more flattering and makes it seem more classy. The only thing I would say with this top is that I didn't wear a bra with it, so if you're someone who would prefer to wear a bra on a night out or doesn't feel comfortable not wearing a bra - which is completely fair enough, I just don't have much there that makes it feel any different to when I do wear a bra lol - then you may struggle with this top. However it is always worth a try! You could always send it back with BooHoo's free returns policy! (I am an awful influence, I apologise).

To finish off the look, I simply wore my trusty boots that offer me comfort for the entire night, and just my usual accessories. Let's just say this outfit saw me through the evening and made me feel super sassy for the whole night. I hope you enjoyed reading this post, and I shall be back again soon for more Fashion Diary updates!

Lot's of love,

Amy xoxo

bottom of page