top of page

Spring / Summer Trends 2017.

With Spring officially upon us here in the UK, I thought now would be a great time to introduce some of my favourite trends that will most definitely be popular over the next few months of Spring and leading us into Summer. Trends aren't something I usually go for in terms of my style, as I tend to wear whatever I like the look of, however these trends are totally fitting for my personal style, and can be so easily integrated into anyone's wardrobe. I've been so excited to share this post with you, so let's get to it!

A Twist on the Classic Band Tee'.

Band t-shirts have been something which have floated around the fashion world for a while now, but it has only been in the past 6 months or so that they have really become a staple piece in anyone's wardrobe. I think the thing I like most about the ones going around currently are that they aren't your traditional, boy fitted, baggy t-shirt. Instead, brands have been giving them their own twist in terms of cut, style and what you can wear them with.

This one I picked up from Boohoo few days ago, and as soon as I received it, I knew that I had to include it in this post. I fell in love with the detail on it, and the band tee vibes that it gives. The twist that is has with the split down the middle gives that additional bit of interest, along with the colour pallet being totally fitting with what is popular at the minute, by combining the pink assets with the bold blacks.

I myself also adore bodysuits, I find them to be so flattering as it skims across the body without being too, uncomfortably fitting. It's a super soft, lightweight fabric, making it completely suitable for the upcoming months, whether you want to wear it like I have done here with black skinnys, or with a cute skirt and heels to modernise your going out outfit.

Florals? For Spring? Groundbreaking.

Just as the heading says, this is exactly what I thought when I saw that florals were making an appearance again for this spring. However, it's been a while since we've seen some like this. Think bold, bright and in your face florals. None of these ditsy little daisy dresses you would usually see, but instead take influence from the 70's, with their outlandish designs that don't hold back on the detail or colour.

I picked this skirt up from Boohoo, as I thought it perfectly demonstrated the kinds of designs that will be popular this spring. With these florals, be super on trend by having the designs on black backgrounds, or deep blues to make the design stand out even more.

This skirt is absolutely gorgeous to say the least, and I can already tell it will be a statement piece in my going out wardrobe. To say I payed quite little for it, the applique flowers - something else which is also currently very popular - are so incredibly detailed and well done, I could not be happier with this purchase!

Show a Bit of Body.

My final fave trend to hit the Spring wardrobe at the minute is that of meshing, sheering and lacing. I picked this top up from New Look a few months ago, and since I haven't stopped seeing these styled tops in every shop I go in.

I was mainly drawn to this top because of the colour, but when I tried it on, I fell in love with the cute frills and polka dots on it, two things I would not usually go for when looking for tops. However, the style of the top I think contrasts with the "cute" features of it, by making it a bit edgier by having it in a mesh fabric.

​Now, I for one have to be feeling a certain level of confidence with this top, as there is no hiding when you have it on. So if you wouldn't feel 100% comfortable wearing something as out there as this, maybe try looking for something with cutouts in this type of fabric, rather than it being all over, and you will be on your way to a showstopper of an outfit.

I decided to pair it with this skirt as metallic is also something which is going to be very in this season, so if you find anything with even a snippet of metallic on it, get it, and you will be ready for the season ahead.

I hope you enjoyed this blog post and it has helped you update your Spring wardrobe. I'll speak again soon and until then, enjoy the beginnings of Spring!

Lot's of love,

Amy x

bottom of page