top of page

The Fashion Diaries: Take Me To The Ball.

Welcome to another edition of The Fashion Diaries, in which this one consists of the outfit I wore to an event which is not my usual, day to day scene. What with me being an avid member of the Psychology Society at my university; as well as being the future president; this meant that when the society revealed a ball was going to be taking place: my reaction was pure excitability. Not only was this event going to give me the perfect opportunity to prove myself as the future president, but to also get all dressed up and have a drink with my best friends and boyfriend.

With this in mind, I decided that a post was definitely going to be needed on the outfit I created for the evening. So without further a do, here is what I wore to The University of Chester's Psychology Ball, 2017.

I began piecing the outfit together by having in mind a particular type of dress I wanted. In my head, I thought "Jessica Rabbit", by demonstrating that sort of 1950's glamour girl, with draping features and plenty of glitz'. As I was scrolling through the beloved, student trusted website: BooHoo, I managed to come across this gorgeous gown. What drew it to me the most originally was the colour, as this Rose Pink colour is one that I have completely fallen head over heels for these past few months, and I cannot get enough of it!

The details on the dress also gave it those added pieces of individuality, with it having a deep plunge neckline and thigh high split up the left leg. These features of the dress really made it stand out to me and added to that sort of 1950's glamour and sexiness I was looking for. I originally ordered the dress in my usual size of a 12, but with me being so small chested, the plunge was too big for me, so I sent it back and ordered a size 10 which fitted much better. Just a head's up for all of my small chested gals out there!

To accompany the plunge neckline, I wanted to wear a layered form of necklace that covered the majority of my chest area. With this in mind, I found this gorgeous silver and gold necklace from New Look. Unfortunately they have seemed to have taken it off the website, however if you were to search up "layered necklace" on their website, you will be able to find plenty of alternatives! This therefore compliments the chest area, rather than having it completely bare.

I then moved onto deciding what shoes and bag I wanted to pair with the dress. Originally I wanted to wear bold, black accessories, as that is what I usually feel most comfortable with. But then my amazing mum suggested adding colours of blue to the outfit, which ended up working incredibly well.

My shoes are again from New Look, and I completely fell in love with them as soon as I saw them. It was one of those finds whereby I knew what I was looking for, it was just a case of finding them! The blue in them is a gorgeous, almost royal blue colour with floral patterns that held the same Rose Pink colours that the dress has. In other words: the new loves of my life. New Look are excelling with their floral, embroidered shoes at the minute, using the embroidery trend and the bold colour trend to apply to the SS17 style influences.

To finish off the look, I needed a handbag that would match the rest of my accessories. This part was the most difficult to find, as there weren't many handbags out on the high street that grabbed my attention, or applied to what I was looking for. After meticulously looking through every website I could think of, I ended up just typing into Google, "blue clutch bags". That was when I found this beauty. It was from a website I had never heard of before, so was slightly hesitant to order it. Although, all the reviews were good, and the quality of the bag online looked incredible, and I am so glad now that I ordered it!

The website I found the bag on was called Shuwish.com and the quality of the bag, like I said, is absolutely stunning. Considering the price I payed for it as well, I was absolutely amazed by it. I thought that the colour again complimented the dress perfectly, but what with it being plain, it didn't draw too much attention away from the shoes.

Overall, I really enjoyed wearing this outfit and felt super attractive and confident in it. Considering a ball isn't something I go to everyday, I would definitely would do if it meant I could dress like this everyday! I hope you enjoyed reading this post, and stay tuned for another one coming soon.

Lot's of love,

Amy xoxo

bottom of page