top of page

My Go - To Countryside Walk / Festival Look.

With me being gone from the blogging scene for a couple of months now, I thought it would be about right to kick start my writing again by introducing another article to The Fashion Diaries. This time around, I found myself somewhere which can often become very alien to not only myself, but many of my other city based friends: the countryside! With this in mind; and knowing that there are many individuals going to festivals for the summer; I thought that this would be a prime time to introduce how I style myself when walking through the country, and potentially, if I found myself attending some sort of festival.

What with the English summer weather being so unpredictable, this often means you have to consider the worst and in summary: be prepared for it. I find that in cases like this, the best way to go forward is with layers. This means that if you're too warm, you can take layers off, and the other way around if you are cold. Make sure that these layers are somewhat light however, as in some cases, if it is a jacket you're taking off per say, you can wrap it around your waist to give off that 90's grunge style vibe. However you can't do this with everything, so try to ensure it's items you wouldn't mind either carrying, or putting it in a bag if you have one.

Try to think practical, yet stylish (not the easiest thing to do, I know!).

So here is my take on the look. I began with the idea that I wanted to wear this t-shirt dress which I picked up from trusty old Primark a few months ago. I know for a fact, that if I were to go to a festival of some sort, shorts would absolutely crucify my thighs. So for me: dresses would be the way forward! I adore these style of dresses, because they're so simple to style and to put your own twist on. There's no right way to put an outfit together with these dresses, you could wear a fitted jacket with it to give yourself a bit more shape, or alternatively keep the jacket over-sized like I have done here so that you're comfortable throughout the day.

The problem with my jacket however, is that I would be completely screwed if it were to start raining. So unless you know you're guaranteed good weather for the time you're there for, I wouldn't advise going with something like denim, that can get extremely heavy and uncomfortable when it gets wet. When I was out and about shopping the other day, I saw these amazing rain-macs in Primark which would be absolutely perfect for any festival. They're light, waterproof and inexpensive: perfect!

Obviously you don't have to go as ridiculous as I have done with the socks, just some plain socks will make this outfit look amazing. Although if you did want to go a bit crazy with the socks by adding touches of lace or some sort of design, that would be just as cool and eye-catching! Then with my wanna-be' Timberland boots (I'm a student, of course I can't afford real ones) it finishes my go-to festival or countryside walk outfit.

I simply added a few accessories, such as my choker and my standard silver rings that I cannot leave the house without: and I was good to go. When it comes to festivals and jewelry, I would say the less: the better. You don't want to have to be faffing' around with necklaces etc when you're jumping around to your fave band's music. I would instead make up for it in glitter and makeup on my face, even though by the end of it, it would probably have all come off. Got to get those Instagram selfies though, am I right?

Thank you for taking the time out to read my post and I hope you enjoyed it as much as I liked planning and writing it. I have a holiday in South Wales coming up in the next few weeks, so I have some plans for what I want to do for outfits in preparation for that.

In the mean time, I hope you all have an amazing time at any festivals that you're going to; or whatever you're getting up to this Summer; and I hope this helped with your outfit planning!

Lots of love,

Amy xoxo

bottom of page