top of page

How To Style: Trousers For The British Summer.

British Summer time is officially upon us, and even though we had a scorcher of a week last week, we all knew deep down that it would never really last - something I am both sad and equally happy about! Despite this, it's notable we can no longer pass off the clothes we wore in Winter and Spring to these more humid, slightly warmer Summer months, and sometimes it can be difficult to figure out what we can get away with, and what we cannot.

I myself find jeans and leggings to be items of clothing made for Autumn and Winter. My legs simply cannot handle being suffocated into a pair of TopShop Joni jeans whilst I'm sweating from nearly every part of my body. Especially when it's humid, I literally refuse to subject myself to such forms of torture. So with that elegantly portraying description in mind, inspiration sprouted to write this post: trousers which are perfect to wear for these temperamental British months of Summer.

The Jumpsuit.

It's made of a super soft jersey material, and the only place it really starts to feel fitted is around the chest area: the rest is floaty and completely loose fitting. Despite it being such a loose fit, the shape it gives to me is incredible and glides so elegantly over my bum and down my legs. The legs have a slight cut up the calf and stop about midway, to create this gorgeous silhouette and adds something more interesting to the leg section of the jumpsuit.

The colour is definitely one I would never ever go for, but the khaki green is a colour which you always find somewhere on the high-street, especially during the summer! So if you can incorporate it somewhere into your wardrobe for the next few months, you're onto a definite winner.

To finish the outfit, I threw on my gorgeous, beautiful, the new love of my life; fake pink leather jacket I managed to find for an absolute bargain from QUIZ at Debenhams. I found it in the sale for £20 however it it showing up as more expensive on QUIZ's website, however with it being a slightly out of season piece, it could go down in price with them any time soon. I love the look of the baby pink with the khaki green together, and is a timeless Spring/Summer colour combination that you can never go wrong with.

A Patch-Work Dream.

These next pair of trousers can be seen as slightly out there in terms of how you would wear them, especially in the UK. But styled right, harem trousers like these can be incredibly flattering and on trend. What a surprise, I picked these trousers from BooHoo at the same time that I found the previous jumpsuit. I originally fell in love with them over the colour, with blue being my favourite colour.

On top of all of these positives, it also helps that these trousers are single handedly the most comfy trousers I have ever had the privilege of wearing. Harem style trousers are absolutely perfect for wearing in these months that are slightly warmer so that you want to be comfortable, but not so that you're bearing all of your skin. They're also seriously flattering, whether you've got chunky legs like myself, or a quite slim on the bottom half, they can suit anyone!

Day to day, I would wear these trousers with very plain items, due to them being so eye-catching on their own. So here I have worn them with a grey light washed top which ties at the front, and essential for anyone's Summer wardrobe, my grey New Balance trainers and my trusty denim jacket.

This is definitely a more laid back kind of look in comparison to the other two looks on this post, but is still a really cute and impressive outfit to wear on a day to day basis during these Summer months.

The Embroidery.

The final pair of trousers I wanted to talk about in this post are a pair I found in New Look about a month ago. The trousers are the perfect ones to wear if you're looking to be comfortable, yet effortlessly fashion forward. Initially I was drawn to the style of them, and how they almost look like jogging bottoms with the tied waist, but are made to look dressed up with the fabric and colour, and of course the gorgeous embroidery on the side of them.

The olive green colour of them is one which really suits dark skin tones and would absolutely stunning on tanned skin. Not only could I imagine wearing these in this country, but would also be perfect in an evening abroad somewhere. Again, they are super comfortable, so you could get away with wearing them when the weather is a bit warmer.

Putting these into an outfit is super easy as well. I simply did this by wearing this white cotton top I found recently in Primark, and made sure to match the detail's colours with the colours that are in the embroidery to tie the outfit together. Finishing off the outfit, I would wear my absolutely awful yet completely acceptable pom pom trainers. If it was a bit colder, I would possibly go for my denim jacket, or another jacket which has pink details in it again, to really showcase the colour combination of pink and green.

Overall this is the perfect outfit to wear on those Summer days, when you're sat in the back garden having a few drinks with friends and family.

I hope you enjoyed reading this blog post as much as I enjoyed finding and putting the outfits together. Summer is the time of year I find it most difficult to piece outfits together, so this was just as helpful for as it may have been for any of you!

I am travelling to South Wales on Friday, so this will be the last blog post before then, but I will be taking plenty of pictures whilst I am there and posting as soon as I get back, so keep your eyes peeled for that! But for now, I hope you're all having a lovely Summer and I shall write again soon.

Lot's of love,

Amy xoxo


bottom of page