top of page

How To: Incorporate Colour into your Autumn Wardrobe.

With the Summer holidays coming to a close and another school year starting, you can begin to feel the sun slowly making less of an appearance and the crisp air get into your bones once again. Summer this year has been a difficult one for me in terms of clothing as nothing has massively appealed to me. Autumn, on the other hand, I am so bloody excited for. Jumpers, coats and layers and layers of cosy clothing: something I feel has desperately been missing from my life these past few months.

I personally have had enough of the heat; don't kill me; and am ready to embrace these cosy nights in with a cup of tea and gluten free biscuits with open arms. The fashion during these months is also something which I for one adore. Making the transition from Summer to Autumn however is one which can be quite difficult, as you still want to keep the brightness and vibrancy of Summer, whilst dressing appropriately for the cold weather. With this in mind, these are a few ways that you can make that transition from Summer to Autumn with ease, whilst still looking mega fashionable and on trend.

This first look is one which I cannot get enough of. The staple piece of the outfit is this bright orange t-shirt I picked up on Saturday from The Curve Fashion Festival. It is part of Felicity Hayward's Self Love Brings Beauty collection and is the perfect piece to wear to keep the warm tones of Summer. I got the t-shirt in a size large to make it over-sized when I have it tucked into jeans like I have done here, and makes wearing it a lot more comfortable rather than it being fitted.

The colour of this t-shirt is one which compliments my skin tone really well with me being quite tanned. I think on darker skin tones this colour would look incredible, however on lighter skin tones one of the more pastel coloured t-shirts Hayward has put on offer might be more suitable, but would still perfect for transitioning from Summer to Autumn.

Paired with the t-shirt is just a pair of plain black jeans that are slightly flared around the calf - completely on trend at the minute - from New Look, and my fake Timberlands I originally picked up from Deichmann, but plenty of places like Primark are selling them at the minute.

Finally, I wear my favourite faux fur, leopard print coat with this outfit to compliment the orange tones of the whole look. I found this gem about half a year ago on ASOS Market Place and would recommend that website to anyone looking for something slightly quirky or vintage. This coat is perfect for keeping me warm and cosy on the colder Autumn days!

This next look is a more casual one, but is still completely on trend by incorporating certain colours and styles. The main piece I wanted to draw attention to with this outfit are the leggings which I found on BooHoo a couple of weeks ago. I seem to remember this sort of look making an appearance last Summer/Autumn by giving the ski-instructor and almost sporty vibes.

Red is a colour everyone needs in their wardrobe if they're wanting to be on trend at the minute. It is everywhere, and is the perfect colour to wear when going from Summer to Autumn. This bright red in particular seems to be the most popular, however as Autumn draws closer: you could always experiment with deeper reds and potentially going into browns.

This is a really simple look to pull off if you don't feel brave enough to wear too much red, as the rest of the outfit is pretty plain in comparison. I am simply wearing an over-sized sweater I picked up from a vintage pop-up shop last year in Manchester, which has the hints of red in it to compliment the red on the leggings, and then finally my white Reeboks. Throw on a casual jacket or coat to finish the look off, and you're on your way!

This final look is one which I have completely fallen in love with over this past week. The obvious stand out piece of the outfit is the sweater, which I found on trusty BooHoo. This is the perfect piece to wear for when it is colder, but not so cold that you need to wear something thick, as the material of this is definitely more sweater like than jumper.

How incredible is the colour of this though?! Yellow isn't a colour I would usually go for, as I believe it can be very hit and miss. However, this shade of yellow is definitely more warm toned than cool, making it a really complimentary colour to wear if you have a darker skin tone. It could also work if you're paler and have dark hair, however it could have the potential of washing you out if you're pale with blonde hair. Like I said - very hit and miss!

I simply paired this with my black Jamie jeans from TopShop and my 420 New Balance trainers which have the yellow details to match the sweater. Another aspect of this outfit that I love is the socks I'm wearing; random but it will all make sense!

I have really been into the fishnet sock trend these past few months, and I think it adds something extra to an outfit rather than wearing plain trainer socks etc. The ones I'm wearing are a pair of white ones, and I wear them so they sit under my jeans, to give off the whole fishnets under jeans vibe. I found them at New Look a couple of months ago and I just think that they look so cool and effortless. Obviously they are not everyone's cup of tea (my mum finds them ridiculous) but for me it just takes an outfit that bit further and gives off really cool vibes.

So that is it for this post! Obviously there are plenty of other ways you can style an outfit for the transitioning of Summer to Autumn, but these are just the ways that first came to mind for me. I hope you enjoyed reading it and it has given you some inspiration for the upcoming months. I shall hopefully speak again soon, however these next few weeks are going to be insanely busy with me moving back to uni and settling in, but I will try my best to work around everything!

Lots of love,

Amy xoxo

bottom of page