top of page

The Fashion Diaries: Halloween 2017.

It's that time of year again you spooky lot! The nights are cold, the pumpkins are out and everyone is dressed up in their finest costumes. Halloween has officially arrived. Now I have never been the biggest fan of Halloween, I get very scared, very easily and it completely messes with my anxiety! However, the part where you get to dress up and do your make-up all crazy and just basically completely change your appearance, is the aspect I have always enjoyed the most. So what with me showing you my Black Swan inspired look from last year, I thought I would do the same this year, to give some of you some inspiration and a helping hand if you're struggling! So here it is, what I wore for Halloween this year.

Now I know what you are all thinking, "Ames, it hasn't even been Halloween yet?!" Well, to that I say, true. But what with my university's Development Week being during Halloween, the Wednesday social for this week was instead a Halloween theme, for those who want to celebrate Halloween with their friends, but are going home for actual Halloween so they can't. It's the perfect time for everyone to get together and show off their costumes, despite it not officially being Halloween (how many times do I wanna say Halloween?).

So baring this in mind, my two best friends/housemates from university went out on the social together and had so much fun dressing up together! As you can see from the picture, Phoebe went as a half dead girl, by painting half of her face with a skull and the other half with her usual make-up. Then she sprayed grey hairspray in her curly locks to add to the whole dead girl look. Then my other friend Seren went as a mermaid by using fishnet tights to paint scales across her face and adding lots of sequins, glitter and pink hairspray to her hair. She also bought these leggings from Boohoo which look fly and I actually really want a pair myself! How stunning did they look though?! Forever having heart eyes whenever I'm around them!

Then, as you can also see from the picture, I went as a bunny. How original. I know I could have gone a lot more out there with the whole concept of the outfit, however, I think the make-up makes up for a lot of the lack of originality! Now I am in no way taking credit for this make-up design, the first thing I did when I knew I was going to be a bunny was look up make-up ideas on Pinterest, and I came across this one which I thought was perfect.

To help me complete the make-up look, I turned to Primark to give me some affordable yet effective make-up, which is exactly what I found! Thank God for Primark. I found this face paint set which was £3 altogether, in which you get 5 miniature colours that consist of a pink, purple, brown, green and orange. Then you get a larger pot of white and black, and you also get a sponge and a brush to apply the paint. I found the best results by wetting the brush and then applying, rather than applying it dry. So I just followed the general outline that is on the picture, and where all the pink sections are, I instead used black to make it more Halloween-esque. Finally, I also added some black whiskers on my face which aren't included on the picture; just to make myself look more like a rabbit; and for this I used some Primark pen eyeliner which worked perfectly to get that sharp line.

Now for the outfit portion. Because this was planned quite last minute, I tried to base my outfit on things I already owned, which actually ended up working out really well! The good thing with Halloween is that as long as you're wearing either something dark, or black, you can get away with wearing anything.

To begin with, I used this top which I bought last week from New Look. I thought it would be perfect because it ties up at the back, so I reckoned I could make it look somewhat like a bunny's tail. I love the details of this top, as it is completely different to anything I have owned before. Firstly, it has the open back, which is something I would never usually go for, but this was too sassy to avoid. Then on the sides of the top, it has two cutouts on either side, making this top extremely revealing. So if you're someone who doesn't feel particularly comfortable showing a lot of body, then this might not be the top for you. However, I don't usually like showing this much body either, but because it has such a high neck and doesn't expose anything from the front, it made me feel a lot more comfortable about wearing it!

I paired the top with this skirt I picked up in the Spring time from Boohoo, and I thought it would be perfect to wear to go with the bunny theme, because you know, bunnies frolic in fields of flowers, right?! Plus the original plain black skirt I wanted to wear turned out to be at home and not at uni with me so I had no choice to wear this one. Nevertheless, I think it still worked relatively well, considering it was quite a last minute decision.

The final key piece of the outfit was of course, the ears. I found these on Boohoo when they had their Halloween sale on, and I managed to also get £1 next day delivery, which was a life saver considering I did the order 3 days before the social. These ears are gorgeous, and I felt so super cute when I wore them. I think the thing I liked the most about them was that they stood out that bit more by having the black veil hanging from them. Originally, the veil was intended to cover your whole face, although I didn't want that because then no one would be able to see my bomb ass make-up. So instead I just tucked the veil behind the headband when I had the ears on, and only had the corner of it hanging down. Perfect!

Finally, I just wore my black and blue platforms, then with a blue bag to pair the blue colours together, and that was it! My Halloween look was complete. I hope you enjoyed this post, and found it helpful if you were looking for some inspiration. Here's to a spooky Halloween and I hope everyone has an amazing time.

Lot's of love,

Amy xoxo

bottom of page