top of page

The Boiler Suit.

At the annual Curve Fashion Festival, this year I wanted to make a bang with what I was I wearing, what with being surrounded by stunning and extremely fashionable people. Looking around online I started to become inspired with what I wanted to wear, which was when I came across this: the boiler suit.

I first became inspired to buy a boiler suit when I saw one half of the iconic duo, Sophia & Cinzia wearing one on her Instagram a few months back. Cinzia styles it beautifully and I completely fell in love with the ease of how it made her look so fashionable, ease being something which always appeals to me! Sophia and Cinzia are two of my absolute style icons and I always take to their Instagrams to see which looks they're working next. I would definitely recommend going to check them out on Insta and YouTube!

The one that I decided to buy is off none other than PrettyLittleThing, and when I saw it my eyes instantly were drawn to it. It has been something that I have wanted to try for a while now, but hadn't found the right occasion to buy one, but thought that I would need something comfy yet on trend to wear for the Curve Fashion Festival.

When buying it, I was torn between the two colour options they had, as seeing Cinzia wearing the black one, I thought I would want to go for something similar. However, after speaking to others about it they suggested the stone colour that it comes in as it would potentially compliment my skin tone quite well. So that's what I decided to do and I could not have been happier with the outcome! The other thing that I was quite concerned about was the fit, as I am quite tall - 5"6 - yet still quite slim, I was concerned that if I went for a bigger size to fit my length that it wouldn't fit my actual shape. In the end, I went for the size 12 which is generally my typical size, and it actually fitted quite well. It sat nicely on my legs, however on my top half it felt a little big, so all that I did was add a belt to the waist in order to pull all the extra fabric in, which worked really well. The belt I am wearing is from Primark, and I love the western style to it, adding another dimension to the outfit.

The beauty of these boiler suits is the options of how you are able to style them. This time around I opted for casual and comfort as I knew it was going to be a long day, so I paired the suit with my Dr Martins which are in the black, classic boot style, and with a black denim jacket and my little white bag which I showed on my AW18 post and is an item I still cannot get enough of. If I were to wear the suit again, I would love to be able to style it more formally by wearing it with heels and a fur coat, as I think it would look incredibly classy and chic.

If you're looking for the perfect boiler suit, I would definitely recommend this one as the fabric is so soft and I was so comfy for the entire day, and like I said before it is so easy to dress up or down. I'm definitely going to have to stop myself from buying the one in black!

Speak soon,

Amy xoxo

bottom of page